26
Mar
09

A nice story

mapa-patagonia2
About a year ago we left our jobs in Buenos Aires and strated an adventure with my partner… we decided to walk the path … Patagonia Argentina and Chile before emigrating to Europe. He carried his guitar and I carried my loom. My idea was to specialize myself and learn all the secrets of the Aborigin loom.

As we traveled along the coast, the loom refused to be at ease, I tried it hard, and something happend but not exactly the results I wanted …
weaving in Rada Tilli
We arrived at the Alerces National Park where we camped for a couple of days and I rearmed with traditional colors: black, white and red.
Los Alerces
We hitchhiked to “El Bolson” for me the most beautiful and magic place in Patagonia, and for the first time in the trip (after one month and a half) we installed ourselves in a “cabana” near the mountain …

I don’t know why? But this time I began to weave and my hands where very fluent … I almost end the “faja” in three days of constant work and I could never repeat it again…

El Bolson
In addition,this place was full of bohemian artists and artisans, and also it was a cooperative of mapuche weavers … they are the indigenous inhabitants of the region, which is the technique that I was improving. Of course this week was a constant going to weave with these women. They spun their wool, and wove in large looms! menawhile we drank “mates”

This fajita travel throughout the rest of our trip, for which, Chile, London, Corsica, Barcelona, Granada, Paris … and now finally moved to Stockholm, Sweden. A man who has indigenous origins have bought it and when I found out I could not keep my tears from falling … now has a new owner and my lesson was to know that I never abandon that technique which has given so much satisfaction to me.

faja

8 Responses to “A nice story”


  1. 1 Goran
    June 22, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Great job. I really like your weaving. I’m also weaving traditional Macedonian motifs, but I’m interested in old Andean weaving techniques. I tried to experiment and learn somethings. But it’s difficult, specially the double weave technique, and the tubular ending. Do you have some instructions or materials to give me and help me learn this wonderful technique

    • June 23, 2009 at 7:08 am

      Thanks for your comments! I work with a book but it’s in spanish, so, I could make a tutorial if you want…
      It is complicated, that is a fact and it took me 1 year to weave like that, but I consider is not parfect yet 😉
      I would like to see your works! do you have a flickr page or something like that?
      What materials have you used to try? I think for Pampa and Laboreo Andino is better a thin cotton as perlé for example, but is true that you have to get a lot of concentration to weave with them…. lots of people in Argentina start with wool (it’s an special one for weaving) and then they try with cotton, I didn’t but now I’m not afraid to weave with thiner materials…
      Let me know a bit more about your work!

  2. 4 Goran
    June 23, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    In my experiments i was using synthetic wool I could make some pictures of those examples so you could see how have I learned.

    I almos forget.. http://www.flickr.com my profile is goran_6

    • June 23, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      wow! I’m impressed! your work is excellent and you are an expert! I would love to have a loom like yours…
      I’m going to try and make a translation from a great book I have (Telar Mapuche de Enrique Taranto) very recommendable for learning, but it is written just in Spanish.If you can buy it it is ideal for the schemes.
      I’ve been working with traditional ones (from the book) and another I have improvised but I almost love the most the traditional ones
      I have to say sinthetic material is not good for this kind of works… I’m going to make the tutorials, I promise, I don’t know when but be in contact because is going to be here… it is a challenge for me do it in english.. great to know people like you!

  3. 6 Goran
    June 24, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    🙂
    I am glad you liked my work.I put a photo of my loom on fabebook. Its homemade. I made it by my self whit help of my brother and father.
    About the south American weaving..
    I can weave this technique I have weaved one little belt it’s similar to belt on this photos

    I understand that technique and I can work it.I think is called pick up technique.

    But I can’t understand completely the technique in which is made the belt on your last photo, or the belt on this photo

    I think this is so called pebble weave and that is my problem:)))

  4. June 25, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Well this is not the same technique, and I never worked with it, but it seems more from Alto Peru region (Bolivia, Peru, North Argentina). The one in the belt is Pampa (I don’t know how is it called in english) but is from the center-south Argentina. Anyway I’m going to make the tutorial for you to know. Even if is not the one you are looking for is very interesting to learn.
    If I found something like that in my book I’ll let you know

  5. 8 Goran
    June 25, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    So the belt in your last photo on this post is made in Pampa. I like that technique too,and I would be very happy to learn and weave it.I am anxiously waiting for your tutorials 😀

    I would like to give you this link , its for translating sentences or parts of some text , from Spanish to English and from English to Spanish . I hope it will help you in preparing the tutorials

    http://www.spanishdict.com/translation

    I use it a few times.. i think is useful


Leave a Reply

Etsy

Ma boutique en français

Last Twitter posts

Categories

RSS Florcita

  • Come on over!
    I see that there is people still coming to this blog daily or adding themselves as "friends" down there on the right side. I invite you all to follow us to the NEW website where the blog has carried on: www.florcita.eu is all you have to type!There is room there to sign up for a newsletter with tips, links, give aways, sales, discounts and the rest […]

RSS Bastiano Notebooks

  • Geometry
    Always I've liked geometry in all the senses: mathematical, philosophical and aesthetic. It has been my main source of inspiration together with the Golden Ratio. Even in the covers of my notebooks there is a rational analysis of composition on the basis of the covers' format with the proportion of size and position of the papers making the collage […]

RSS Etsy FAST Team

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS EST_ European Street Team

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Google Groups

Google Groups
Sign up to artetextil
E-mail :
Visit the group

Pages

Top Clicks

  • None

My flickr

Margaritas ! #summer #flowers

Slow motion life in Normandie #weekend #morelikethisplease

Et voilà le troisième sac ! Le plus été de tous :) #jutebag #jute #crochet #crochetersofinstagram soon in my #etsy #dawanda & #alittlemarket shops.

I have been a little lazy lately but finally I can post the photos of this bag. It is still summer! #jutebag #crochet #crochetersofinstagram. Find it today in my #etsy #dawanda #alittlemarket shops

More Photos

Blog Catalog

Fibre Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

