06
Apr
09

Etsy in Paris

Well this has been a week full of emotions and events, including Wednesday, April 1, Maria Thomas (Etsy CEO) and Liza Wald (Director of International Development of Etsy)  who came to Paris to meet with vendors, clients and friends of Etsy. 
Thanks to Gillian monamivie who opened her husband’s restaurant for us (Petula Cafe) super cute! (If one day you go through there, there is one of his art works decorating the back wall.

etsy

Anyway, when I arrived there were already some people and I felt a little panic of having to speak English (long time not speaking it), but then I realized that Paris is Babel, and had people from all over the world … to which all could understand this language without problems …
The meeting was raised in a very informal and fun ambiance and we talked a little about our experience with the site and about our work itself. I am not going to go into details but in particular we all had the feeling of something “huge” and at the same time something we learn daily to deal with.
The main issues raised were working with currency converter, or customers purchasing from Europe could pay in euros (hard to change for now, but promised to review) , putting an option to send EU (European Union), due to shipping costs, because there are different costs:national, EU or America, but if a list I don’t have any option of locking all countries into one category .. . you must list each of them… I have a local rate and one for the rest of the world, although is not entirely accurate, but if not the customer tide, startled and goes …
The highlight were problems with language, because although for now Etsy is highly concentrated in the U.S., if they want to cover Europe, it is difficult for everyone, whether sellers or buyers, understand how it works . This applies both to France, Spain as I imagine it must be for any seller in Italy for example … difficult to implement, at least in the short term, but at least for me, I think we need to embrace a market like this (especially with regard to buyers) … I personally know people who said…I saw your page, but “everything was in English” … we will have to wait, but at least there wasn’t a negative answer…
I think the feeling of all of us was that at least we could have a face to face contact with people who are responsible and listening to all the needs to implement changes. Also I found that they didn’t want to suddenly fly high, but wanted to go step by step, doing things right and that leaves me quiet because I see that they are working for us to have a brilliant future on the platform.
Ok, here I let you know some of the seller I’ve met
To start (LaCometaLab.)   from Madrid,a very nice and talented artist who make some fun brooches and she took  very nice photos of the reunion and you can see them here in her flickr page … http:// www.flickr.com/photos/moonpics/
TortillaGirl makes very nice clothes and accessories, Matilou ilsutrator: accessories using her drawing work for kids … Lespetiteschoses Felt bags and purses (divine!) Malam Independent designer  Arianelulu accessories KariusdePariuspins very arty! ah .. and I almost forgot, the only man in the room, a super talented Irish ArtyTom painter …
Well, they were all cards that arrived in my hands …
Super positive meeting, and I also realized how much I have served time behind the screen … This is a full time job …creative and marketing …
0 Responses to “Etsy in Paris”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Etsy

Ma boutique en français

Last Twitter posts

Categories

RSS Florcita

  • Come on over!
    I see that there is people still coming to this blog daily or adding themselves as "friends" down there on the right side. I invite you all to follow us to the NEW website where the blog has carried on: www.florcita.eu is all you have to type!There is room there to sign up for a newsletter with tips, links, give aways, sales, discounts and the rest […]

RSS Bastiano Notebooks

  • Geometry
    Always I've liked geometry in all the senses: mathematical, philosophical and aesthetic. It has been my main source of inspiration together with the Golden Ratio. Even in the covers of my notebooks there is a rational analysis of composition on the basis of the covers' format with the proportion of size and position of the papers making the collage […]

RSS Etsy FAST Team

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS EST_ European Street Team

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Google Groups

Google Groups
Sign up to artetextil
E-mail :
Visit the group

Pages

Top Clicks

  • None

My flickr

Blog Catalog

Fibre Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

