06
May
09

How to organize yourself to finish more projects!

How many times have you found yourself struggling in your projects and frustrated because you can’t finish them?

I’ve found pretty difficult to start and finish one project without wasting time in small things or being stacked sometimes because I don’t receive findings in time or I can’t decide which fabric I’m going to use to line something for example.

So the easier and more effective way I tried was dividing projects into small parts and carrying with four or five at the same time… and lately I decided to write the time I pass in each one to know if this I’m charging is ok or not.

 So at the time I have:

  1. A scarf I finished yesterday in the loom ( I show it at the end of the post) and now I’m thinking about what is going to be next because the loom is free again.
  2. A series of bracelets I have in the vertical loom (work in progress 75% and I must finished today or tomorrow) and then add the findings of course.
  3. A bolero/shrug I am knitting with circular needles (work in progress 70%) maybe for this weekend is finished.
  4. A clutch bag which I finished the fabric (hand-woven in the loom) but I have to dye a fabric and I don’t have a proper pot I’m sure I’m going to find it, but up to this moment I’m thinking of ordering more frames because I really enjoyed to make this bags

So, for example this scarf it took me 10 hours to finish it but I have to say that with my loom it is impossible to weave for more than 2 hours because my back suffers a lot… as a consequence this work was finished in one week* thi s is also great to know if somebody asks you for a custom order… and you can know in how much time you are going to deliver it.

Tell me more about your experiences… it is always useful to know!

Have a great day

 grey hand-woven scarftransparences from my loomecharpe tissée à la main

4 Responses to “How to organize yourself to finish more projects!”


  1. May 8, 2009 at 10:30 am

    jajajaja lo que mas gracia me da es que vengo a leer este post cuando estoy con una lista al lado de las cosas que tengo que hacer, entre ellas tu emails… traducciones, fotos que procesar, lana que comprar, botones que lijar… tengo una pila de cosas que van y vienen… y como no llego mas al atico que es donde yo tenia mi oficina (con un hijillo y muchas escaleras, no es recomendable), uso la mesa del comedor… y voy y vengo con cajas y cajitas y cosas que se van convirtiendo en una montania… y mi marido que me mira desesperado.
    Que telar tenes?? yo me traje uno de ARG. Un telar europeo pero de mesa digamos, transportable. A mi me lleva mas tiempo cortar todos los hilos a medida y ponerlos que tejer en si… pero necesito seguro por lo menos medio dia de trabajo ininterrumpido… lo cual tampoco sucede muy seguido con el enano queriendo “ayudar”.
    Yo quiero aprender a tejer con las agujas esas circulares y al crochet… 🙂

  2. May 8, 2009 at 10:40 am

    y si… eso es tipico, imaginate yo que vivo en un depto chiquito, si no me organizo no podria vivir…
    Tengo un telar chiquito y transportable tambien que me presto una amiga ARG que vive aca y que ahora le quiero comprar porque me resulta muy util…y si, enhebrarlo es lo mas trabajoso, pero es parte…
    okok prometo posts dedicados a vos de como tejer con las agujas circulares y algo de crochet 😉

  3. May 8, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Yo tengo varios links de lugares donde venden lana que tambien venden telares y demases… digo por las dudas por si te piace…


Leave a Reply

Etsy

Ma boutique en français

Last Twitter posts

Categories

RSS Florcita

  • Come on over!
    I see that there is people still coming to this blog daily or adding themselves as "friends" down there on the right side. I invite you all to follow us to the NEW website where the blog has carried on: www.florcita.eu is all you have to type!There is room there to sign up for a newsletter with tips, links, give aways, sales, discounts and the rest […]

RSS Bastiano Notebooks

  • Geometry
    Always I've liked geometry in all the senses: mathematical, philosophical and aesthetic. It has been my main source of inspiration together with the Golden Ratio. Even in the covers of my notebooks there is a rational analysis of composition on the basis of the covers' format with the proportion of size and position of the papers making the collage […]

RSS Etsy FAST Team

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS EST_ European Street Team

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Google Groups

Google Groups
Sign up to artetextil
E-mail :
Visit the group

Pages

Top Clicks

  • None

My flickr

Margaritas ! #summer #flowers

Slow motion life in Normandie #weekend #morelikethisplease

Et voilà le troisième sac ! Le plus été de tous :) #jutebag #jute #crochet #crochetersofinstagram soon in my #etsy #dawanda & #alittlemarket shops.

I have been a little lazy lately but finally I can post the photos of this bag. It is still summer! #jutebag #crochet #crochetersofinstagram. Find it today in my #etsy #dawanda #alittlemarket shops

More Photos

Blog Catalog

Fibre Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

