17
May
09

Interviewing Alejandra Arteaga

Today I want to introduce you Alejandra Arteaga a textil artist from Chile. I discover her through Flickr, and I liked a lot the natural style of her accesories. Once I was in contact with her and I had the chance of knowing a little bit more about her I realized her work reflects very well what she thinks. 

*Remember if you want to be featured in my blogs you can contact me trhough my flickr sending me your blog or flickr user to see your works. You can also fill the form in my spanish blog (unfortunately wordpress is not as user friendly as I would like for this purpose).

Alejandra Arteaga

Personal Information

My name is Maria Alejandra Arteaga Vega aka Ale

I’m 26 years old

I’m from Chile, I was born in Santiago but nowadays I live in Valparaiso

I studied arts and industrial design.

In my free time I make everything you can see in my Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/tacto

I made more things but I’m waiting to make a photography session.

When did you started?

Since I was a child I have been taking classes of paint, pottery, 

sculpture, drawing  and I went to the “Escuela de Bellas Artes de 

Viña del Mar” Vina del Mar Art School , I still have some works I made at that age.

Valparaiso-Chile

In the University of Valparaiso I studied industrial design and I took the option of specialize my work in textiles, fashion, photography and the ecological area. In 2008 the University began an investigation in textile area about natural dying applied to wool. 

We were a group of pupils whom participate and expose our work. We also made some seminars about reutilization in fashion.

What are you inspired by?

I consider myself a very urban person. I love living downtown and being in contact with architecture, art, design and his constant movement and assist to cultural events. The urban movement inspires me for my designs but with an ecological point

textil necklaceof view. I’m concerned about living in a clean city, without garbage… more ecologic.

What do you enjoy the most?

The thing I enjoy the most in my activity is the opportunity of experimenting and exploring constantly…searching for new results and of course, doing beautiful things.The photography is other of my interests and I do it all the time. I always travel around with my camera. This is a work I use as a complement of my designs. 

http://www.flickr.com/photos/28839450@N04/

necklaces selection

What are your future plans?

In the short term my expectations are: starting a line of textile jewelry in which I’m working on and in the long term I would like to have my 

own store in downtown promoting ecological design.

Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/tacto/

 

3 Responses to “Interviewing Alejandra Arteaga”


  1. May 18, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Que interesante trabajo… me voy pal Flickr.

  2. 2 jon
    June 19, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I was in Chile several years ago and purchased a handwoven alpaca bracelet with the silver clasp. I’ve been looking online for the particular store in Santiago but I can’t remember what the bracelet was called. Are there any other spanish names they might be referred to other than Mapuche? Thanks, Jon

    • June 20, 2009 at 6:45 am

      Hey Jon, I saw your comment and I can’t help you with the store, but maybe doing a research by “pulsera a telar en alpaca con cierre de plata” is going to give you more results…good luck!


Leave a Reply

Etsy

Ma boutique en français

Last Twitter posts

Categories

RSS Florcita

  • Come on over!
    I see that there is people still coming to this blog daily or adding themselves as "friends" down there on the right side. I invite you all to follow us to the NEW website where the blog has carried on: www.florcita.eu is all you have to type!There is room there to sign up for a newsletter with tips, links, give aways, sales, discounts and the rest […]

RSS Bastiano Notebooks

  • Geometry
    Always I've liked geometry in all the senses: mathematical, philosophical and aesthetic. It has been my main source of inspiration together with the Golden Ratio. Even in the covers of my notebooks there is a rational analysis of composition on the basis of the covers' format with the proportion of size and position of the papers making the collage […]

RSS Etsy FAST Team

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS EST_ European Street Team

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Google Groups

Google Groups
Sign up to artetextil
E-mail :
Visit the group

Pages

Top Clicks

  • None

My flickr

Margaritas ! #summer #flowers

Slow motion life in Normandie #weekend #morelikethisplease

Et voilà le troisième sac ! Le plus été de tous :) #jutebag #jute #crochet #crochetersofinstagram soon in my #etsy #dawanda & #alittlemarket shops.

I have been a little lazy lately but finally I can post the photos of this bag. It is still summer! #jutebag #crochet #crochetersofinstagram. Find it today in my #etsy #dawanda #alittlemarket shops

More Photos

Blog Catalog

Fibre Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

